Hello and welcome to the second review of this blog!

The last one has been a really busy week for The Bearded Handballer: a good amount of experiments at work, loads of typing and editing for his final PhD thesis, a long travel, some more typing and editing, paperwork and much more.

p_20190120_000318_dfWhy am I telling you about this? Well, stress and a very busy life will indeed affect the health of your beard. This is why an accurate beard grooming routine and the use of high quality products can help you to prevent many annoying problems.

For this reason, the subject of this post is an excellent bear balm that I decided to bring with me in the above-mentioned travel:Citrus Tonic” by Seven Potions, a beard balm containing only natural and organic ingredients.

Few months ago, I was carrying out on of my beard-related searches on internet and I came across this interesting product. I decided to visit their website and, as always, I focused my attention on the “About Us” and “FAQ” sections. I was immediately impressed by the way of describing the ethics and ideas behind their business. It did not take so long to click on the “Shop” section.
To be completely honest, I am not a huge fan of lemon-flavoured products. For example, I never hesitate to opt for an orange flavoured alternative whenever it is available. Morevover, I rearely use lemons for my cooking recipes and I actually do not buy them so frequently.
Nevertheless, I thought that the addition of a product with a sour soul would have been great and then I ordered the “Citrus Tonic“.

p_20190120_002744_df

I have to admit that I was a bit concerned about my olfactory reaction when it came to  opening the shiny metal tin for the first time… but I was happily surprised. Despite representing the main character of the simple but rich bouquet, the Lemon component of this product has a very delicate and well-balanced character. Forget the strong and artificial flavour of many beverages or shower gels; close your eyes and try to imagine a walk in a countryside of the Mediterranean area. The dainty acidic fragrance of this beard balm recalls the light scented breeze running throught the trees of the citrus groves. Such equilibrate and enjoyable aroma is possible thanks to the addition of a “woody” side to the ingredient list (a very bright idea!). The ligneous notes of Cedarwood and Sandalwood might appear as secondary characters, but they strongly contribute to create the balanced but vibrant harmony of scents.  In the “Citrus Tonic” the pungent soul of the lemon blends with the cozy wooden notes to generate a “warm freshness” that will invigorate and protect your beard. I strongly believed that this oxymoron represents the best way to describe the combination of the above-mentioned elements.

PicsArt_01-20-02.19.57.jpg

Looking at the physical aspect, this beard balm has a very pale yellowish colour and results quite solid at room temperature. The large surface of the container helps to take the right amount of product without messing up. Once in your hands, it will liquefy quickly upon friction releasing all the scents and allowing an enjoyable massage on your beard.

If your are concerned about the aspect of your beard, do not worry. Once applied, this  balm does not give an oily/greasy aspect.

The masterfully selected and dosed ingredients makes the “Citrus Tonic” a valuable and high quality product in terms of effectiveness and results. The rain, cold temperatures, wind and humidity of the last few days were completely stopped by the action of this balm (I applied it regularly, every morning on a freshly washed beard): at the end of each day my beard was still soft and tidy. Such aspects represent and additional evidence for the particular care and effort they put in the formulation of highly reliable products, at Sevent Potions.

 

In which particular occasions would “The Bearded Handballer” use this beard balm?
As explained above, the “Citrus Tonic” is a powerful weapon to be used when the beard needs for a real extra-power. For this reason I would suggest this product for those intense periods when frenetic schedules, stress and busy to-do-lists threaten our beloved beards!

And what about you?
If you have already tried this product, why don’t you share your experience/opinion here? Feel free to comment this post!
Please do not hesistate if you want to know more, if you have any additional comment you would like to share and if you have any request or suggestion! 🙂

I hope this post will be helpful for you and your beloved beard!

Have a nice day and thanks again for the visit!

The Bearded Handballer

 

Product ID Card

Name: Cytrus Tonic

Brand: Seven Potions (England)

Packaging: 60 mL metal tin with screw cap

Ingredients: Cera Alba, Cocos Nucifera, Elaeis Guineensis, Simmondsia Chinensis Cera, Prunus Persica, Theobroma Cacao, Persea Gratissima, Palm Free Vegetable Glycerin, Vitamin E, Cedar Wood Oil, Lemon Essential Oil, Fragrance (Essential oils)

Price (without shipping): 16.97 GBP